Skip to content
Agentic Endpoint Compare logoAgentic Endpoint Compare

HEAD TO HEAD

Neo matched with Onyx Security: agentic endpoint security compared

SHORT ANSWER

Neo and Onyx Security tie at 6.85 out of 10 on our published weights. Neo scores higher on capability rules, actor trail and named agent coverage; Onyx scores higher on cloud and workspace reach and public proof.

By The Agent Desk · Agentic Endpoint Compare · Published 2026-10-11

Desk research from public vendor pages, press releases and standards pages read on 27 September and 11 October 2026. Editorial assessment; we did not run the products.

How do they compare at a glance?

Neo

Approval holds and an agent-level audit chain

6.85 / 10

Rank 2 of 6 among agentic endpoint vendors

Neo verdict ring: documents 4 of 6 verdict types: Block or deny, Ask a person, Mask or modify and Simulate first.4/6

Onyx Security

Inline control with the widest set of verdicts

6.85 / 10

Rank 2 of 8 among broader AI security platforms

Onyx Security verdict ring: documents 4 of 6 verdict types: Block or deny, Ask a person, Alert or warn and Mask or modify.4/6

Which scores higher on each criterion?

Criterion scores 0 to 10 with reasons
CriterionWeightNeoOnyx SecurityHigher
Stop before it runs25%8 / 10

Intercepts agent actions at the endpoint and allows, blocks or holds them for approval before they run; decision latency is not stated.

Source: Neo homepage · Read 13 Oct 2026

8 / 10

Inspects every prompt, tool call and model response inline before acting on it.

Source: Onyx Security: AI security platform · Read 27 Sep 2026

Tie
Verdict range15%7 / 10

Documents 4 of six verdict types: Block or deny, Ask a person, Mask or modify and Simulate first. "Allow, block, redirect or hold an action for verified human approval; audit mode before enforcement."

Source: Neo platform · Read 13 Oct 2026

7 / 10

Documents 4 of six verdict types: Block or deny, Ask a person, Alert or warn and Mask or modify. "Five actions: alert, block, mask, steer, or ask."

Source: Onyx Security: AI security platform · Read 27 Sep 2026

Tie
Capability rules15%7 / 10

Policies built with a built-in LLM, with examples such as Block secret reads and Hold exports over 10 MB, over an inventory of agents, models, skills, MCP servers and extensions.

Source: Neo homepage · Read 13 Oct 2026

6 / 10

Agent posture covers misconfigurations, excessive permissions and credential handling; rules by capability type (shell, packages, cloud CLIs) are not itemized.

Source: Onyx Security: AI security platform · Read 27 Sep 2026

Neo
Actor trail10%8 / 10

Every action is tied to the human or agent that caused it, in what Neo calls an immutable audit chain.

Source: Neo homepage · Read 13 Oct 2026

7 / 10

Agent identity and access governance is a named solution; per-action attribution detail is lighter than the leader.

Source: Onyx Security homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026

Neo
Rollout path10%6 / 10

A new lightweight endpoint sensor: no kernel module, no reboot, no OS hooks; OS support and MDM rollout are not stated.

Source: Neo platform · Read 13 Oct 2026

6 / 10

Endpoint agents, browser extensions, APIs and gateways; the device component is resident software.

Source: Onyx Security: AI security platform · Read 27 Sep 2026

Tie
Cloud and workspace reach10%5 / 10

Names SaaS and desktop AI such as Slack AI, Notion AI and Salesforce Agentforce from the endpoint; agents in cloud workloads are not described.

Source: Neo platform · Read 13 Oct 2026

9 / 10

Covers cloud workloads alongside browser AI, coding assistants, desktop agents and MCP servers, across SaaS, cloud, endpoint and code.

Source: Onyx Security: AI security platform · Read 27 Sep 2026

Onyx
Named agent coverage5%5 / 10

Names 3 of the six agents we track: Claude Code, GitHub Copilot and OpenAI Codex.

Source: Neo platform · Read 13 Oct 2026

0 / 10

Names 0 of the six agents we track: none.

Source: Onyx Security: AI security platform · Read 27 Sep 2026

Neo
Public proof10%6 / 10

Came out of stealth on 20 July 2026 with $100M from Andreessen Horowitz and Bessemer; no documentation portal or pricing.

Source: Neo news: launch with $100M (20 July 2026) · Read 13 Oct 2026

7 / 10

Series B of $113M announced 29 July 2026; SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 listed; pricing not published.

Source: Onyx Security blog: $113M Series B (29 July 2026) · Read 27 Sep 2026

Onyx

Which verdicts does each document?

Verdict census for the two products
Verdict typeNeoOnyx Security
Block or denyDocumentedDocumented
Ask a personDocumentedDocumented
Alert or warnNot describedDocumented
Mask or modifyDocumentedDocumented
Simulate firstDocumentedNot described
Remove or scale backNot describedNot described

How does each reach devices?

Neo

A new lightweight endpoint sensor with no kernel module, no reboot and no OS hooks; OS support and MDM rollout are not stated.

Source: Neo platform · Read 13 Oct 2026

Onyx Security

Endpoint agents, browser extensions, APIs and gateways; Onyx says no SDK changes are needed.

Source: Onyx Security: AI security platform · Read 27 Sep 2026

Which agents does each name?

Agent census for the two products
AgentNeoOnyx Security
Claude CodeNamedNot named
CursorNot namedNot named
GitHub CopilotNamedNot named
OpenAI CodexNamedNot named
WindsurfNot namedNot named
Claude DesktopNot namedNot named
Named3 of 60 of 6

Which should you choose?

Choose Neo if you need stop before it runs and actor trail. Neo is best for: Approval holds and an agent-level audit chain.

Choose Onyx Security if you need cloud and workspace reach and stop before it runs. Onyx Security is best for: Inline control with the widest set of verdicts.

Frequently asked questions

Which is better for agentic endpoint security, Neo or Onyx Security?

Neo and Onyx Security tie at 6.85 out of 10 on our published weights. See the criterion table above for where each scores higher.

Which stops an agent action before it runs more fully, Neo or Onyx Security?

They tie at 8. Neo: Intercepts agent actions at the endpoint and allows, blocks or holds them for approval before they run; decision latency is not stated. Onyx Security: Inspects every prompt, tool call and model response inline before acting on it.

Do Neo and Onyx Security publish prices?

Neo: not published. Neo publishes no pricing. Onyx Security: not published. Onyx Security publishes no pricing.