HEAD TO HEAD
Lasso Security matched with Neo: agentic endpoint security compared
SHORT ANSWER
On our published weights Neo scores higher overall, 6.85 to 6.40 out of 10. Lasso scores higher on cloud and workspace reach and public proof; Neo scores higher on verdict range, capability rules and actor trail; they tie on stop before it runs, rollout path and named agent coverage. Which fits depends on which of those criteria matters most to you.
By The Agent Desk · Agentic Endpoint Compare · Published 2026-10-11
Desk research from public vendor pages, press releases and standards pages read on 27 September and 11 October 2026. Editorial assessment; we did not run the products.
How do they compare at a glance?
Lasso Security
Claude Code hooks and an open-source MCP gateway
Rank 5 of 8 among broader AI security platforms
Neo
Approval holds and an agent-level audit chain
Rank 2 of 6 among agentic endpoint vendors
Which scores higher on each criterion?
| Criterion | Weight | Lasso Security | Neo | Higher |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Stop before it runs | 25% | 8 / 10 Inspects every Claude Code tool call before it is executed through the agent's lifecycle hooks, and gates MCP traffic through its gateway. Source: Lasso Security: AI coding assistants · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 8 / 10 Intercepts agent actions at the endpoint and allows, blocks or holds them for approval before they run; decision latency is not stated. Source: Neo homepage · Read 13 Oct 2026 | Tie |
| Verdict range | 15% | 5 / 10 Documents 3 of six verdict types: Block or deny, Alert or warn and Mask or modify. "MCP actions block, alert or sanitize; masks sensitive data before prompts reach third-party models." Source: Lasso Security: MCP security · Read 27 Sep 2026 Source: Lasso Security: AI usage control · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 7 / 10 Documents 4 of six verdict types: Block or deny, Ask a person, Mask or modify and Simulate first. "Allow, block, redirect or hold an action for verified human approval; audit mode before enforcement." Source: Neo platform · Read 13 Oct 2026 | Neo |
| Capability rules | 15% | 6 / 10 Controls which users and teams can connect to which MCP servers, with role-based permissions and DLP; broader capability rules are not itemized. Source: Lasso Security: MCP security · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 7 / 10 Policies built with a built-in LLM, with examples such as Block secret reads and Hold exports over 10 MB, over an inventory of agents, models, skills, MCP servers and extensions. Source: Neo homepage · Read 13 Oct 2026 | Neo |
| Actor trail | 10% | 5 / 10 Keeps a history of inputs, policy decisions and enforcement actions; agent versus person attribution is not described. Source: Lasso Security: AI usage control · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 8 / 10 Every action is tied to the human or agent that caused it, in what Neo calls an immutable audit chain. Source: Neo homepage · Read 13 Oct 2026 | Neo |
| Rollout path | 10% | 6 / 10 Browser extension, proxy, gateway and Claude Code hooks: several components to run. Source: Lasso Security: AI usage control · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 6 / 10 A new lightweight endpoint sensor: no kernel module, no reboot, no OS hooks; OS support and MDM rollout are not stated. Source: Neo platform · Read 13 Oct 2026 | Tie |
| Cloud and workspace reach | 10% | 6 / 10 Runtime enforcement at the proxy, API or AI gateway layer reaches AI apps beyond the laptop; agents in cloud workspaces are not described. Source: Lasso Security homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 5 / 10 Names SaaS and desktop AI such as Slack AI, Notion AI and Salesforce Agentforce from the endpoint; agents in cloud workloads are not described. Source: Neo platform · Read 13 Oct 2026 | Lasso |
| Named agent coverage | 5% | 5 / 10 Names 3 of the six agents we track: Claude Code, Cursor and Windsurf. Source: Lasso Security: AI coding assistants · Read 27 Sep 2026 Source: Lasso Security: MCP security · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 5 / 10 Names 3 of the six agents we track: Claude Code, GitHub Copilot and OpenAI Codex. Source: Neo platform · Read 13 Oct 2026 | Tie |
| Public proof | 10% | 8 / 10 Lists Lasso for Employees at $20,000 per 12 months on AWS Marketplace (marketplace list price), and its newsroom describes a $30 million round led by ClearSky in September 2026. Source: AWS Marketplace: Lasso for Employees · Read 11 Oct 2026 | 6 / 10 Came out of stealth on 20 July 2026 with $100M from Andreessen Horowitz and Bessemer; no documentation portal or pricing. Source: Neo news: launch with $100M (20 July 2026) · Read 13 Oct 2026 | Lasso |
Which verdicts does each document?
| Verdict type | Lasso Security | Neo |
|---|---|---|
| Block or deny | Documented | Documented |
| Ask a person | Not described | Documented |
| Alert or warn | Documented | Not described |
| Mask or modify | Documented | Documented |
| Simulate first | Not described | Documented |
| Remove or scale back | Not described | Not described |
- Lasso Security: "MCP actions block, alert or sanitize; masks sensitive data before prompts reach third-party models."
Source: Lasso Security: MCP security · Read 27 Sep 2026
Source: Lasso Security: AI usage control · Read 27 Sep 2026
- Neo: "Allow, block, redirect or hold an action for verified human approval; audit mode before enforcement."
Source: Neo platform · Read 13 Oct 2026
How does each reach devices?
Lasso Security
Browser extension, proxy integrations, the MCP gateway and Claude Code hooks through the enterprise management platform; works with stacks such as Palo Alto Networks or CrowdStrike.
Source: Lasso Security: AI usage control · Read 27 Sep 2026
Neo
A new lightweight endpoint sensor with no kernel module, no reboot and no OS hooks; OS support and MDM rollout are not stated.
Source: Neo platform · Read 13 Oct 2026
Which agents does each name?
| Agent | Lasso Security | Neo |
|---|---|---|
| Claude Code | Named | Named |
| Cursor | Named | Not named |
| GitHub Copilot | Not named | Named |
| OpenAI Codex | Not named | Named |
| Windsurf | Named | Not named |
| Claude Desktop | Not named | Not named |
| Named | 3 of 6 | 3 of 6 |
Which should you choose?
Choose Lasso Security if you need stop before it runs and public proof. Lasso Security is best for: Claude Code hooks and an open-source MCP gateway.
Choose Neo if you need stop before it runs and actor trail. Neo is best for: Approval holds and an agent-level audit chain.
Frequently asked questions
Which is better for agentic endpoint security, Lasso Security or Neo?
On our published weights Neo scores higher overall, 6.85 to 6.40 out of 10. See the criterion table above for where each scores higher.
Which stops an agent action before it runs more fully, Lasso Security or Neo?
They tie at 8. Lasso Security: Inspects every Claude Code tool call before it is executed through the agent's lifecycle hooks, and gates MCP traffic through its gateway. Neo: Intercepts agent actions at the endpoint and allows, blocks or holds them for approval before they run; decision latency is not stated.
Do Lasso Security and Neo publish prices?
Lasso Security: AWS Marketplace list price: $20,000 per 12 months (Lasso for Employees, GenAI Chatbots annual commit). Marketplace list price for one listing. Other listings, such as Lasso for Secured Gateway for LLMs, were not priced on the pages we read; lasso.security publishes no pricing. Neo: not published. Neo publishes no pricing.