HEAD TO HEAD
Glow Security matched with Onyx Security: agentic endpoint security compared
SHORT ANSWER
On our published weights Onyx Security scores higher overall, 6.85 to 5.40 out of 10. Glow scores higher on named agent coverage; Onyx scores higher on stop before it runs, verdict range, actor trail, rollout path and cloud and workspace reach; they tie on capability rules and public proof. Which fits depends on which of those criteria matters most to you.
By The Agent Desk · Agentic Endpoint Compare · Published 2026-10-11
Desk research from public vendor pages, press releases and standards pages read on 27 September and 11 October 2026. Editorial assessment; we did not run the products.
How do they compare at a glance?
Glow Security
Software control and shadow AI across the endpoint
Rank 5 of 6 among agentic endpoint vendors
Onyx Security
Inline control with the widest set of verdicts
Rank 2 of 8 among broader AI security platforms
Which scores higher on each criterion?
| Criterion | Weight | Glow Security | Onyx Security | Higher |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Stop before it runs | 25% | 7 / 10 Describes a pre-execution hook that can block an action or hold it for approval, and runtime prevention policies; mechanics are not documented on pages we could read. Source: Glow Security blog: AI agents exposed developer screenshots (29 September 2026) · Read 13 Oct 2026 | 8 / 10 Inspects every prompt, tool call and model response inline before acting on it. Source: Onyx Security: AI security platform · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Onyx |
| Verdict range | 15% | 3 / 10 Documents 2 of six verdict types: Block or deny and Ask a person. "A pre-execution hook can block the action or hold it for approval." Source: Glow Security blog: AI agents exposed developer screenshots (29 September 2026) · Read 13 Oct 2026 | 7 / 10 Documents 4 of six verdict types: Block or deny, Ask a person, Alert or warn and Mask or modify. "Five actions: alert, block, mask, steer, or ask." Source: Onyx Security: AI security platform · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Onyx |
| Capability rules | 15% | 6 / 10 Adaptable policies with autonomous remediation and prevention agents, and a Claude Code managed-settings bundle through its Anthropic integration. Source: Glow Security homepage · Read 13 Oct 2026 | 6 / 10 Agent posture covers misconfigurations, excessive permissions and credential handling; rules by capability type (shell, packages, cloud CLIs) are not itemized. Source: Onyx Security: AI security platform · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Tie |
| Actor trail | 10% | 6 / 10 Per-user Claude usage and a compliance audit trail through the Anthropic integration, which needs Claude Enterprise and the Compliance API. Source: Glow Security: Anthropic integration · Read 13 Oct 2026 | 7 / 10 Agent identity and access governance is a named solution; per-action attribution detail is lighter than the leader. Source: Onyx Security homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Onyx |
| Rollout path | 10% | 5 / 10 How Glow reaches devices is not stated on its homepage; its documentation site could not be read. Source: Glow Security homepage · Read 13 Oct 2026 | 6 / 10 Endpoint agents, browser extensions, APIs and gateways; the device component is resident software. Source: Onyx Security: AI security platform · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Onyx |
| Cloud and workspace reach | 10% | 4 / 10 Reaches Claude Enterprise accounts, skills and connectors through an API key; cloud workloads are not described. Source: Glow Security: Anthropic integration · Read 13 Oct 2026 | 9 / 10 Covers cloud workloads alongside browser AI, coding assistants, desktop agents and MCP servers, across SaaS, cloud, endpoint and code. Source: Onyx Security: AI security platform · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Onyx |
| Named agent coverage | 5% | 2 / 10 Names 1 of the six agents we track: Claude Code. Source: Glow Security: Anthropic integration · Read 13 Oct 2026 | 0 / 10 Names 0 of the six agents we track: none. Source: Onyx Security: AI security platform · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Glow |
| Public proof | 10% | 7 / 10 Came out of stealth on 22 July 2026 with $180M at a $1.2B valuation led by Sequoia, Cyberstarts, Greenoaks and Redpoint, with customer quotes and a trust center on glow.io; no pricing. Source: Glow Security news: emerges from stealth with $180M (22 July 2026) · Read 13 Oct 2026 | 7 / 10 Series B of $113M announced 29 July 2026; SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 listed; pricing not published. Source: Onyx Security blog: $113M Series B (29 July 2026) · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Tie |
Which verdicts does each document?
| Verdict type | Glow Security | Onyx Security |
|---|---|---|
| Block or deny | Documented | Documented |
| Ask a person | Documented | Documented |
| Alert or warn | Not described | Documented |
| Mask or modify | Not described | Documented |
| Simulate first | Not described | Not described |
| Remove or scale back | Not described | Not described |
- Glow Security: "A pre-execution hook can block the action or hold it for approval."
Source: Glow Security blog: AI agents exposed developer screenshots (29 September 2026) · Read 13 Oct 2026
- Onyx Security: "Five actions: alert, block, mask, steer, or ask."
Source: Onyx Security: AI security platform · Read 27 Sep 2026
How does each reach devices?
Glow Security
Not stated on the homepage; Glow's documentation site could not be read.
Source: Glow Security homepage · Read 13 Oct 2026
Onyx Security
Endpoint agents, browser extensions, APIs and gateways; Onyx says no SDK changes are needed.
Source: Onyx Security: AI security platform · Read 27 Sep 2026
Which agents does each name?
| Agent | Glow Security | Onyx Security |
|---|---|---|
| Claude Code | Named | Not named |
| Cursor | Not named | Not named |
| GitHub Copilot | Not named | Not named |
| OpenAI Codex | Not named | Not named |
| Windsurf | Not named | Not named |
| Claude Desktop | Not named | Not named |
| Named | 1 of 6 | 0 of 6 |
Which should you choose?
Choose Glow Security if you need stop before it runs and public proof. Glow Security is best for: Software control and shadow AI across the endpoint.
Choose Onyx Security if you need cloud and workspace reach and stop before it runs. Onyx Security is best for: Inline control with the widest set of verdicts.
Frequently asked questions
Which is better for agentic endpoint security, Glow Security or Onyx Security?
On our published weights Onyx Security scores higher overall, 6.85 to 5.40 out of 10. See the criterion table above for where each scores higher.
Which stops an agent action before it runs more fully, Glow Security or Onyx Security?
Onyx Security scores higher on stopping an action before it runs (8 to 7). Glow Security: Describes a pre-execution hook that can block an action or hold it for approval, and runtime prevention policies; mechanics are not documented on pages we could read. Onyx Security: Inspects every prompt, tool call and model response inline before acting on it.
Do Glow Security and Onyx Security publish prices?
Glow Security: not published. Glow Security publishes no pricing. Onyx Security: not published. Onyx Security publishes no pricing.