HEAD TO HEAD
Ent matched with Onyx Security: agentic endpoint security compared
SHORT ANSWER
On our published weights Onyx Security scores higher overall, 6.85 to 5.80 out of 10. Ent scores higher on capability rules and named agent coverage; Onyx scores higher on stop before it runs, verdict range, cloud and workspace reach and public proof; they tie on actor trail and rollout path. Which fits depends on which of those criteria matters most to you.
By The Agent Desk · Agentic Endpoint Compare · Published 2026-10-11
Desk research from public vendor pages, press releases and standards pages read on 27 September and 11 October 2026. Editorial assessment; we did not run the products.
How do they compare at a glance?
Ent
One intent-aware policy for people and agents
Rank 4 of 6 among agentic endpoint vendors
Onyx Security
Inline control with the widest set of verdicts
Rank 2 of 8 among broader AI security platforms
Which scores higher on each criterion?
| Criterion | Weight | Ent | Onyx Security | Higher |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Stop before it runs | 25% | 7 / 10 Steps in at the moment of risk and blocks risky agent behavior; per-tool-call mechanics are not described. Source: Ent press release: intent-aware prevention for AI agents (30 July 2026) · Read 13 Oct 2026 | 8 / 10 Inspects every prompt, tool call and model response inline before acting on it. Source: Onyx Security: AI security platform · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Onyx |
| Verdict range | 15% | 3 / 10 Documents 2 of six verdict types: Block or deny and Alert or warn. "Customized actions from a soft nudge to a hard block." Source: Ent homepage · Read 13 Oct 2026 Source: Ent press release: intent-aware prevention for AI agents (30 July 2026) · Read 13 Oct 2026 | 7 / 10 Documents 4 of six verdict types: Block or deny, Ask a person, Alert or warn and Mask or modify. "Five actions: alert, block, mask, steer, or ask." Source: Onyx Security: AI security platform · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Onyx |
| Capability rules | 15% | 7 / 10 One programmable policy for people and AI agents (SACR names the language EntLang), and app control that can allow, block, deny or restrict usage. Source: Ent press release: intent-aware prevention for AI agents (30 July 2026) · Read 13 Oct 2026 | 6 / 10 Agent posture covers misconfigurations, excessive permissions and credential handling; rules by capability type (shell, packages, cloud CLIs) are not itemized. Source: Onyx Security: AI security platform · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Ent |
| Actor trail | 10% | 7 / 10 Natural-language investigation timelines built as events happen; the same policy covers people and agents. Source: Ent press release: intent-aware prevention for AI agents (30 July 2026) · Read 13 Oct 2026 | 7 / 10 Agent identity and access governance is a named solution; per-action attribution detail is lighter than the leader. Source: Onyx Security homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Tie |
| Rollout path | 10% | 6 / 10 A single lightweight agent across Windows, macOS, Linux and modern browsers, SaaS or self-hosted; rollout through MDM is not stated. Source: Ent press release: intent-aware prevention for AI agents (30 July 2026) · Read 13 Oct 2026 | 6 / 10 Endpoint agents, browser extensions, APIs and gateways; the device component is resident software. Source: Onyx Security: AI security platform · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Tie |
| Cloud and workspace reach | 10% | 3 / 10 Endpoint and browser; agents in cloud workspaces, cloud workloads or SaaS platforms are not described. Source: Ent homepage · Read 13 Oct 2026 | 9 / 10 Covers cloud workloads alongside browser AI, coding assistants, desktop agents and MCP servers, across SaaS, cloud, endpoint and code. Source: Onyx Security: AI security platform · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Onyx |
| Named agent coverage | 5% | 7 / 10 Names 4 of the six agents we track: Claude Code, Cursor, GitHub Copilot and OpenAI Codex. Source: Ent press release: intent-aware prevention for AI agents (30 July 2026) · Read 13 Oct 2026 | 0 / 10 Names 0 of the six agents we track: none. Source: Onyx Security: AI security platform · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Ent |
| Public proof | 10% | 6 / 10 Came out of stealth on 16 June 2026 with a $100 million seed led by Decibel, generally available on Windows, macOS, Linux and browser extensions; no pricing. Source: Ent press release: $100M seed (16 June 2026) · Read 13 Oct 2026 | 7 / 10 Series B of $113M announced 29 July 2026; SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 listed; pricing not published. Source: Onyx Security blog: $113M Series B (29 July 2026) · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Onyx |
Which verdicts does each document?
| Verdict type | Ent | Onyx Security |
|---|---|---|
| Block or deny | Documented | Documented |
| Ask a person | Not described | Documented |
| Alert or warn | Documented | Documented |
| Mask or modify | Not described | Documented |
| Simulate first | Not described | Not described |
| Remove or scale back | Not described | Not described |
- Ent: "Customized actions from a soft nudge to a hard block."
Source: Ent homepage · Read 13 Oct 2026
Source: Ent press release: intent-aware prevention for AI agents (30 July 2026) · Read 13 Oct 2026
- Onyx Security: "Five actions: alert, block, mask, steer, or ask."
Source: Onyx Security: AI security platform · Read 27 Sep 2026
How does each reach devices?
Ent
A single lightweight agent across Windows, macOS, Linux and modern browsers, offered as SaaS or self-hosted; rollout through MDM is not stated.
Source: Ent press release: intent-aware prevention for AI agents (30 July 2026) · Read 13 Oct 2026
Onyx Security
Endpoint agents, browser extensions, APIs and gateways; Onyx says no SDK changes are needed.
Source: Onyx Security: AI security platform · Read 27 Sep 2026
Which agents does each name?
| Agent | Ent | Onyx Security |
|---|---|---|
| Claude Code | Named | Not named |
| Cursor | Named | Not named |
| GitHub Copilot | Named | Not named |
| OpenAI Codex | Named | Not named |
| Windsurf | Not named | Not named |
| Claude Desktop | Not named | Not named |
| Named | 4 of 6 | 0 of 6 |
Which should you choose?
Choose Ent if you need stop before it runs and capability rules. Ent is best for: One intent-aware policy for people and agents.
Choose Onyx Security if you need cloud and workspace reach and stop before it runs. Onyx Security is best for: Inline control with the widest set of verdicts.
Frequently asked questions
Which is better for agentic endpoint security, Ent or Onyx Security?
On our published weights Onyx Security scores higher overall, 6.85 to 5.80 out of 10. See the criterion table above for where each scores higher.
Which stops an agent action before it runs more fully, Ent or Onyx Security?
Onyx Security scores higher on stopping an action before it runs (8 to 7). Ent: Steps in at the moment of risk and blocks risky agent behavior; per-tool-call mechanics are not described. Onyx Security: Inspects every prompt, tool call and model response inline before acting on it.
Do Ent and Onyx Security publish prices?
Ent: not published. Ent publishes no pricing. Onyx Security: not published. Onyx Security publishes no pricing.